The forum for African women Educationalist was established in Nigeria in 1996 through the help of Chief (Mrs) Iyabo Anisulowo when she was the Minister of State for Education. It was auspicious that she was the Minister then when FAWE was being established all over Africa and she used her office to ensure that it took root in Nigeria. The Forum has since been established in many states of the federation. A list of the key established in many states of the federation is presented in this flyer. A list of the key officers are presented.


Senator Iyabo Anisulowo, Former Hon. Minister of State Education, Member of the Board of FAWE Regional Secretariat

Email:, Phone Number: 08034714352

The leaders of FAWE (N) since inception have been:

  1. Grace Alele-Williams
  2. Jadesola Akande
  3. Gbolahan abisogun-Alo
  4. Hajia Jara Tutare
  5. Chief Marie Therese Sojinrin (Past National Chair)
  6. Prof. Kate Nwufo (Immediate Past National Chair)
  7. Jiderre Musa Kaibo, mni (Present National Chair) 

Members of the Board of Trustee are:

  1. Grace Alele-Williams
  2. Ambassador Judith Attah
  3. Jubril Aminu
  4. Michael Omolayole


Dr. Aisha Buhari

FAWE(N) memberships are drawn from present and past female ministers and commissioners of education, female heads of tertiary institution and their deputies, registrars, directors, deputy directors and assistant directors of education and female principles of schools. All male educationalists are honorary members.